Monday, June 28, 2010

Threadneedle Prize: selected artists

The artists selected for The Threadneedle Prize Exhibition have been announced.  The shortlist of those eligible to win the prizes on offer will be announced in July.

I wrote about this prize back in April this year - see Threadneedle - just another art prize in 2010?

Prizes:  The following prizes will be awarded

  • The Threadneedle Prize: £25,000
  • The Visitors’ Choice: £10,000
  • Finalists (6 awarded): each £1,000
If the public vote coincides with the selectors’ vote, one artist wins a total of £35,000, making The Threadneedle Prize potentially the most valuable art competition for a single work of art in the UK.

Exhibition:  The Mall Galleries in London will be hosting the Threadneedle Prize Exhibition between 18 September 2010 - 3 January 2011.

Eligible artists/artwork: The competition is open to artists of all nationalities, aged 18 or over on 1 January 2010, presently living or working in the UK.  Artists could submit a maximum of three works which must have been completed after 1 January 2009.  Works must not have been exhibited in any other prize or competition in the UK or elsewhere.  Acceptable media includes oil, tempera, acrylic, ink, vinyl, watercolour and other dry media and can be on any form of support (canvas, paper, wood, plastic etc).
Works should be based on observation and experience, not on a conceptual or abstract world.  Artists are encouraged to engage, excite and challenge the public on subjects of contemporary and topical significance. Submissions based on the human figure and other major themes are also welcome. 
The following artists have been selected for the Threadneedle Prize Exhibition:

Anna Adamkiewics
Jemma Appleby
Boyd and Evans
Janet Buckle
Patricia Cain
Simon Carter
Darren Coffield
Paul Cummings
Thomas Doran
Wendy Elia
Mark Entwisle
Karl Farrer
Fiona Finnegan
Louise Folliot
Howard Gardener
Ursula Haug
Roland Hicks
Marguerite Horner
James Jessop
Valerie Jolly
Oliver Jones
Jarik Jongman
Peter Kelly
Aleksandra Jarosz Laszlo
Angela Lizon
Enzo Marra
Gary Martin
Stuart McCaffer
Yuki Otake
Ethan Pollock
Martin Roberts
Geoff Routh
Anthony Ruby
Timothy Sandys
Margaret Sellars
Tim Shaw
Jayne Anita Smith
Jung I Song
David Sullivan
A Lincoln Taber
Caroline Walker
Neville Weston
David William-Bulkeley

Artists who have exhibited in The Threadneedle Prize before include:
  • Thomas Doran
  • Oliver Jones
  • Peter Kelly
  • Tim Shaw
  • David Sullivan
You can follow The Threadneedle Prize on Facebook. You can see photos from submission days at Three Mills here - that's just up the road from where I live in East London!

Note: If I've got a link to anybody's website wrong please let me know (comment below) and I'll change it

Links to former posts on this blog about the Threadneedle Prize


No comments:

Post a Comment

COMMENTS HAVE BEEN CLOSED AGAIN because of too much spam.
My blog posts are always posted to my Making A Mark Facebook Page and you can comment there if you wish.

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.