Wednesday, June 16, 2010

John Moores Contemporary Painting Prize 2010: shortlist announced

The shortlist for the John Moores Contemporary Painting Prize 2010 has been announced.

I wrote about this prize back in February this year - see John Moores Contemporary Painting Prize 2010.  The following prizes will be awarded
  • a first prize of £25,000
  • four further prizes of £2,500 each
  • visitors choice prize - announced at the end of the exhibition
The Walker Art Gallery in Liverpool will be hosting the JM2010 exhibition between 18 September 2010 - 3 January 2011.

All artists who enter one painting for the Prize must either live or be professionally based in the UK.   Paintings must be new, in any medium and designed to hang on a wall and must be the wholly original work of the artist.
The full list of 2010’s shortlisted artists is:

1. Cornelia Baltes: THERE YOU ARE!
2. Jon Braley: untitled
3. GL Brierley: JIGGYJILLY 
4. Deborah Burnstone: Freeway
5. Darren Coffield: PISODICAL
6. Keith Coventry: Spectrum Jesus
7. Edward Coyle: Multiplicity study
8. Theo Cuff: untitled
9. Stuart Cumberland: 240Y/1 2009
10. Ian Davenport: Puddle Painting: Dioxazine
11. Philip Diggle: For Your Pleasure
12. Tim Ellis: United in Different Guises XXXXIII
13. Geraint Evans: An Alpine Biodome
14. Adam Fearon: Untitled
15. Damien Flood: Drip
16. Nick Fox: Metatopia 
17. David Fulford: Near the Site
18. Mikey Georgeson: Untitled (Molecule of Intuition)
19. Chris Hamer: Crook 
20. Andy Harper: Frau Troffea
21. Richard Harrison: Mountain Peaks
22. Sigrid Holmwood: Butchering a Pig
23. Phil Illingworth: 3D painting No.1 (experiments with colour reflection)
24. Lee Johnson: The Kerchief or Dr Olfato's Welcome
25. Neal Jones: ORANGE PAVING
26. Joseph Long: Hortus Botanicus
27. Elizabeth McDonald: Bee Keepers I
28. Nicholas Middleton: "Protest, April 1st 2009"
29. Michael Miller: Suspended Animation
30. Matthew Mounsey: Prehistoric Sex Machine
31. Jost M√ľnster: to the left
32. Cara Nahaul: Somewhere between prayer and agenda
33. Narbi Price: Untitled See Saw Painting
34. Steven Proudfoot: The Party
35. Sabrina Shah: Witness
36. Annabelle Shelton: Helter Skelter Runway 2009
37. George Sherlock: Polycrylic Decades
38. Michael Simpson: Bench Painting Untitled
39. Henrietta Simson: Giotto's Template
40. Veronica Smirnoff: Lubo
41. Ian Peter Smith: Matter at the edge
42. Daniel Sturgis: Still Squallings
43. Geraldine Swayne: Industrialist on Wheels
45. Christian Ward: Frontier Monument

How the judges work:  You can watch videos of the jury talking about the judging here.  This covers both Stage 1 and Stage 2 (or click the link in the video at the top of the page)

The judges are:
  • Gary Hume - painter
  • Alison Watt - painter (one of my favourites)
  • Ged Quinn - painter
  • Goshka Macuga - painter
  • Sir Norman Rosenthal  - former Exhibitions Secretary of the Royal Academy of Arts
Follow the progress of the competition on Twitter at:

Watch the announcement of the prizewinner LIVE on the Internet:  For the first time in the history of the competition the announcement of the winner and runner-up prizewinners will be broadcast live on the internet on Thursday 16 September 2010 at:

I'll be trying to find links to the artists' websites (where they exist) during the course of the day so you might like to check back later. NOW UPDATED.


  1. That WAS VERY interesting, I am glad that Sir Norman was talking afterwards, it made me forgive his gum chewing earlier!

  2. For those who can't find me - my website is Hope this is helpful. Steve Proudfoot


COMMENTS HAVE BEEN SUSPENDED AGAIN due to very silly ignorant people who leave spam comments without realising they have no benefit for them.

Please feel free to comment on my Facebook Page as my blog posts are always posted there (but please note anonymous comments are not published and I block and report spammers to Google and on Facebook)

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.