Saturday, April 13, 2019

Shortlist for Jackson's £5,000 Open Art Prize published

The shortlist of finalists for the Jackson's Open Art Prize (£5,000) are listed below.
The prize aims to celebrate exceptional artworks by artists at all stages of theirs careers

There's some admirable work included in the shortlist. This a link to images of the shortlisted artwork in 2019 - the names of the artists are below.

A selection of those shortlisted for the Prize
There are a number of Prizes worth £10,000 overall

  • Overall Winner of the Jackson's Art Prize - £5,000
  • People's Choice Award (of all the entries received) - £1,000 - Voting is now open
  • Emerging Artist Award - £1,000
  • 6 Category Prizes - £500 each
Bottom line - it's an Art Competition worth entering (see more details at the end)! 

Those shortlisted artists who choose to do so will submit their work for exhibition at the Affordable Art Fair in Hampstead (9-12 May 2019)

This is a link to the longlist of artworks eligible for the People's Choice Awards

  • It's NOT in the least bit obvious but there are images on more than one page
  • I predict that all those NOT on the front page of each category will received fewer votes as a result

Names of shortlisted artists for Jackson's Open Art Prize


  • Naima Aouni


  • Adam Baker
  • Aldo Balding
  • Gisela Banzer
  • William GC Brown

  • Christopher Campbell 
  • Claire Cansick
  • Hilary Carr
  • Hector Chan
  • Rosso Emerald Crimson


  • Jonathan Dickson


  • Jenny Fay
  • Mark Finch


  • Tess Gray


  • Magdalena Gluszak-Holeksa
  • Josh Hollingshead,
  • Caio Locke
  • Esmond Loh
  • Fiona Long 

  • Catherine MacDiarmid (recently seen in Sky Portrait Artist of the Year)
  • Ruairi Fallon McGuigan
  • Mark McLaughlin
  • David Micheaud
  • James Moore
  • Iain Nicholls
  • Jennifer Nieuwland
  • Sorca O’Farrell


  • Stephen Palmer
  • Shanti Panchal
  • Nadja Gabriela Plein
  • Sam Rahamin


  • Kae Sasaki
  • Michael Sheldon
  • Paul Smith
  • Karen Spencer
  • Marc Standing
  • Paul Stone
  • James Tebbutt
  • Clare Thatcher
  • Polly Townsend
  • Judith Tucker 
  • Philip Tyler
  • Paula Urzica
  • Michelle Wilson
  • Daniel Yeomans
Judges for this competition are listed below and the link is to an interview with them:


No comments:

Post a Comment

COMMENTS HAVE BEEN CLOSED AGAIN because of too much spam.
My blog posts are always posted to my Making A Mark Facebook Page and you can comment there if you wish.

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.